top of page


KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 1 - After several months of uncertainty due to the

COVID-19 pandemic, the wait seems to have been well worth it when the

organisers of PETRONAS Le Tour de Langkawi 2022, Human Voyage (M) Sdn

Bhd announced that six World Tour teams will grace Asia's premier cycling tour

with a status of ProSeries from 11 to 18 October 2022.

The six World Team teams that will compete in the eight-stage 1,183km tour

starting in Kuala Lumpur and ending in Pulau Langkawi are UAE Team Emirates

from the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Cofidis (France), Lotto Soudal (Belgium),

EF Education- EasyPost (United States), Movistar (Spain) and Astana-Qazaqstan


Chief Operating Officer (COO) of LTdL22, Shahaizereen A Hamid said that

they are very proud at being able to bring in six of the best professional teams

in the World Team list of the International Cycling Union (UCI) this year, as

they look to serve high-quality action to local cycling fans.

"Out of these six WorldTeam, five will be making their debut in LTdL as Astana

Qazaqstan had participated several times previously.

"The participation of these top class teams will make this year's edition one of

the best-ever organised in terms of the quality of participation of the world's

leading teams where it will present world-class competition to local and

foreign cycling fans", he said.

On the other hand, Shahaizereen said that three teams with ProTeam status

had already confirmed their participation in the 26th edition of the tour this

year, after it was not organized in 2021 due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

The teams that will be making their way to Kuala Lumpur are Drone Harper-

Androni Giacattoli from Italy who are among LTDL regulars, in addition to UNO-

X Pro Cycling from Norway and also Alpecin-Deceuninck from Belgium.

In the UCI Continental Teams division, the teams that will be part of the

peloton this year are two local continental professional teams, Terengganu

Polygon Cycling Team (TSG) and Team Sapura Cycling (TSC), two teams

registered in Indonesia - Mula Cycling Team and Roojai Cycling Team as well as

ARA Pro Racing Sunshine Coast from Australia, China Glory Continental Cycling

Team (China), ProTouch (South Africa) and Kuwait Pro Cycling (Kuwait).

Regional teams that will also be at the starting line are Thailand Continental

Team (Thailand), Team UKYO (Japan), 7-Eleven Cliqq Air (Philippines) and the

Malaysian national team.

LTdL22 will start with Stage 1 from Kuala Pilah to Kuala Lumpur for a distance

of 157.3km; Stage 2 Kuala Klawang-Raub (178.9km); Stage 3 Putrajaya-Genting

Highlands (123.7km); Stage 4 Sabak Bernam-Meru Raya (137.9km); Stage 5

Kuala Kangsar-Kulim (172.0km); Stage 6 Georgetown-Alor Setar (120.8km);

Stage 7 Kuah-Gunung Raya (90.8km) and Stage 8 Loop Langkawi (115.9km).

bottom of page